Trust=Hope

I’ve had this song that’s been speaking to my soul for the last several months.

“when this life has overwhelmed me,

and I feel like giving up”

In just a few months time I have experienced and walked with friends through an emotional and difficult adoption, a terrible accident, a devastating diagnosis, unanswered prayer, loss of a dream, a turbulent marriage, financial difficulties, and the list could go on.

This life can be so overwhelming.

It can feel hopeless.

It can be so incredibly painful.

But…

in the middle of the pain, the struggle, the darkness, we have a choice.

We always have a choice.

We can allow the desperateness, the hopelessness, and the crappyness of life to overwhelm us. We can complain. We can ask for pity. We can rail at God. We can get angry.

or.

we can choose to “cling to all you’ve promised, it will always be enough”

I know it sounds cliche.

I know it’s not that simple.

or is it?

God never promised a life free of hardship.

In fact, quite the opposite.

“So then, since Christ suffered physical pain, you must arm yourselves with the same attitude he had, and be ready to suffer, too.” 1Peter 4.1

God doesn’t promise that IF you go through tough stuff He will be with you, He says WHEN.

When you go through deep waters,
    I will be with you.
When you go through rivers of difficulty,
    you will not drown.
When you walk through the fire of oppression,
    you will not be burned up;
    the flames will not consume you.” Isaiah 43.2

Crap is going to happen. It will.

“When the world around me crumbles, and it’s hard to understand”

There have been so many times when I have not been able to discern how God could allow things to happen. And I could get lost in that feeling of misunderstanding. I could feel hopeless.

It would be incredibly arrogant for me to pretend I can understand even a fraction of God’s wisdom or to doubt His goodness because of my ignorance.  But there are some things that I do know.

“I will run to you my shelter, I am safe within your hands.”

God is a good God.

“You are my help. Forever”

His promises are enough.

“I will not fear”

His Words are true.

“God, You are with me”

And I can choose to hang my hope on His everlasting truth or on the temporary circumstances of life.

“I know You’re near, You’ll never leave me”

So when life throws poo in your face and it feels like you have no control.

“I will trust in You alone”

Choose.

Choose to cling to His promises.

Choose to trust in the One who knows. The One who has felt every pain you are feeling. The One who really does hold the future.

“And when my heart and strength have failed me”

Hear me now: IT IS NOT EASY.

“My God, You won’t, Your name is Mighty!”

“For the Lord your God is living among you.
    He is a mighty savior.
He will take delight in you with gladness.
    With his love, he will calm all your fears.
    He will rejoice over you with joyful songs.” Zeph 3.17

I WILL TRUST IN YOU ALONE.

That is a choice that I must make.

Choose.

God is a good God. He is love. He is constant. Unlike our world around us.

Choose to trust and not despair.

“But I trust in your unfailing love.” psalm 13.5

“Let your unfailing love surround us, Lord, for our hope is in you alone.” psalm 33.22

 

 

Published by: Monicayo

I am just a single girl who loves God. Like a lot. My goal is live dangerously. I want to let go of my inhibitions, fears, and anything that will hold me back from living out God's amazing plan for my life. Pretty much just winging it each day, but that is all part of the adventure.

Categories Random thoughtsLeave a comment

Leave a Reply

