The Election

Yep another opinion on the election.

vote

In only a couple weeks our nation will vote on a new leader.

clump

I have heard and read so many differing opinions on this I think my eyes are going to start bleeding soon.

voting

There are a lot of emotions running wild.

I understand why. I do.

Growing up Anabaptist all of this looks a little different for me. I was taught that our kingdom is not of this world. That our focus should be on reconciliation versus war. This is not to discredit anyone’s worldview, only to share what helped shape mine.

Politics then has had little appeal to me, add in all the mud-slinging and the lying, and my distaste for it has only grown.

And yet I’m a member of this society.

I care what happens to this country I call home.

So what is a Mennonite girl to do?

51074739

This is a question I have been wrestling with since I was first eligible to vote.

I don’t have a clear answer on it. But I do know one thing with absolute certainty.

God has said some very specific things that we are to do.

“first of all, to pray for all people. Ask God to help them; intercede on their behalf, and give thanks for them. Pray this way for kings and all who are in authority so that we can live peaceful and quiet lives marked by godliness and dignity.”

That’s what we want, right? to live peaceably and with dignity?

Isn’t that what is driving so much of the anger and fear about the candidates? Fear that they will bring shame on us as a nation, fear of disruption, fear of war, or is that just me?

Am I willing to pray this way for our candidates?

Do I pray for God to help Hillary? Am I giving thanks for Trump and praying for his soul?

Can’t say that I am.

What would happen if we would do that?

Do we believe our God is big enough to change the hearts of our leaders?

Proverbs tells us,

“The king’s heart is a stream of water in the hand of the Lord; he turns it wherever he will.”

And so, I dare you.

 i-double-dog-dare-you

I dare you to pray.

Pray for our candidates, pray for our nation, pray for our souls.

God promises us that,

“Then if my people who are called by my name will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, I will hear from heaven and will forgive their sins and restore their land.”

I don’t know what I’m going to do on election day.

But I know the God who can turn the heart of a king. And I am going to spend some of my time talking to Him about the future of our nation.

Will you join me?

 

Published by: Monicayo

I am just a single girl who loves God. Like a lot. My goal is live dangerously. I want to let go of my inhibitions, fears, and anything that will hold me back from living out God's amazing plan for my life. Pretty much just winging it each day, but that is all part of the adventure.

Categories Random thoughtsLeave a comment

Leave a Reply

